Advent Means #Flood

Image

When your dad’s vascular surgeon gives your mom what he calls his “private secret” cell phone number to give to YOU so you can call him… Things are serious. To save my dad’s 78 yr old life, he’s gonna have to lose his left leg.

Today’s advent photo-a-day thing was the word “flood.” I came home tonight and realized I never posted a picture and looked around me for what looked like a pic of a flood and i saw all my crazy notes from the past few days trying to piece together phone calls and reserach and questions I have for when I talk to the doctor. Office is getting painted, writing deadlines are past due, I’m weeks behind in reading for homework, I need to go grocery shopping, the dishes aren’t done, you know, life. It’s a flood of denial, hurt, sadness, reality right now. 

That’s Advent. All this stuff is just like all of my other stuff, through all of our years, we cry out for relief. Waiting and watching for rescue, salvation, home, and peace.

Leave a comment